Annual Reviews of Analytical Atomic Spectrometry

Some members of the ASU Editorial Board 2017 with guests (taken in the grounds of Barnet Hill Country House Hotel, Guildford, UK). The members are L to R starting on the back row: Steve Hill, Jeff Bacon, Owen Butler, Chris Harrington, John Marshall, James Murphy, Simon Branch (behind), Robert Clough, Andy Ellis (end of row), Mike Sargent, Mike Foulkes (behind), Mark Cave, Peter Wobrauschek, Holly Tyson, Yolanda Madrid, Bridget Gibson, Andrew Taylor Hywel Evans (end of row), Front: Marina Patriarca, Warren Cairns, Jenny Cook, Nicholas Martin (behind), Margaret West, Julian Tyson, Nicola Barlow (behind), Christina Streli, Les Ebdon, Sarah Hill and Christine Vanhoof.

(Click photograph for larger version)

This website uses cookies to improve our understanding of how it is used. By continuing to use this site, we will assume that you are happy with our use of cookies.
How we use cookies

Atomic Spectrometry Updates are annual reviews written by a community of experts in their field. The aim is to provide six authoritative, critical and comprehensive reviews of the major fundamental and applied areas of analytical atomic spectrometry.

They currently appear in alternate issues of the Royal Society of Chemistry's Journal of Analytical Atomic Spectrometry (JAAS). The 2017 programme of reviews is:

A Personal Thankyou

Presentation to David Halls

L to R, Andrew Taylor, John Marshall and David Halls

I would like to thank all the members of the ASU Board for their kind wishes and for the retirement gift. My wife Rozsa and I were treated to a very nice lunch at the Alona Hotel, Strathclyde Park, Motherwell by two other ASU stalwarts, Andrew Taylor and John Marshall.

I was first asked in the 1980s by the late Professor John Ottaway to be part of a new venture replacing the annual book of Annual Reviews of Analytical Atomic Spectrometry (ARASS) with a series of reviews to be published bimonthly in a new journal - the Journal of Analytical Atomic Spectrometry. This would be published by the Royal Society of Chemistry. I was asked to take part in writing a review on Clinical Materials, Foods and Beverages. Together with Alistair Brown and Andrew Taylor, we produced our first review for publication in 1986. Since then I have been involved with ASU for differing periods as writer, topic group co-ordinator, referee and webmaster of this website.

I have enjoyed the collaboration with an amazing group of scientists with common interests. It is good to see younger scientists joining this group and I wish the group well for the future.

Thank you all again.

David Halls


Latest Update

2017 ASU Annual Board Meeting

Annual Reports on Analytical Atomic Spectroscopy

Readers' Comments and Suggestions


Related Links